Wednesday, June 30, 2010


View Larger Map

On March 5, 1848, Allan Cameron and William Withers landed by ship at the site of the modern-day town, in that part of Canada West known only as the Queen's Bush, and founded a community called Penetangore. On January 1, 1850 the Queen's Bush was divided into counties, and the counties were divided into townships. Penetangore now found itself located within the Township of Kincardine in the County of Bruce. Both the township and the county were named after James Bruce, 8th Earl of Elgin and 12th Earl of Kincardine.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Port Elgin Huron

View Larger Map

Port Elgin is a community in the Ontario municipality of Saugeen Shores. Close to MacGregor Point Provincial Park in Bruce County, the community has several beaches on Lake Huron.
The community was named after James Bruce, 8th Earl of Elgin, a former Governor General of Canada in 1873. Originally, the village was named Normanton. In the 1990s, Port Elgin was merged into the town of Saugeen Shores.